Pizza

Now what person could imagine going through life without having pizza!  Being the all American Italian that I am, that would be out of the question. It was only a couple of months before I started looking for recipes for pizza dough. I had my ‘old-life’ recipe and between that and a few others I came up with a whole wheat dough recipe that we both like.

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

2 cups whole wheat flour                               1/2 cup wheat germ

1 pkg active dry yeast                                      1 cup warm water

1 teaspoon sea salt                                             1 tablespoon honey

Preheat your oven to 375′. In a large bowl dissolve the yeast in warm water and set aside for 10 minutes. In another bowl mix flour, wheat germ and salt.  Make a well in the mixture and pour the yeast, water and honey. Stir well and let rise for a few minutes.  Sprinkle flour on the counter and roll out 3/4 of the dough.  Spread a thin coating of olive oil on a round pizza pan and place dough on it.  Prick the dough with a fork in several places (to avoid bubbles forming). Edge the dough if you want by pressing a fork to flatten the edges.  Bake for 5 minutes and remove from oven. 

While you’re waiting for the dough to par-bake, slice thinly any veggies you would like to have on the pizza.  You can really get creative with this. I have used:  onions, green, red, yellow, or orange peppers, mushrooms, and black olives.  Being the meat eaters we were, we like to use ‘fake’ meat, and so we use Crumbles, which looks like ground beef, or ‘fake’ sausage, and ‘fake’ cheese.  When you have all your ingredients ready, spread a good layer of tomato sauce (sometimes I make a large batch of my own sauce and use it for several dishes, and other times I use a can of pizza sauce. As always, check the ingredients to ensure it accommodates the vegan diet.)  Then start spreading the veggies and fakes evenly. Top with a sprinkling of oregano, pop the pie back in the oven for 7 minutes or until the crust is golden. 

You will probably have dough left over.  What I do with my extra dough is roll it out in a rectangular shape, put sauce and veggies on it and roll it lengthwise.  I seal the edge and curve the roll to fit on another pizza pan. After the pizza is done I bake this pizza roll for 15 minutes or until golden and have this the next day for lunch, or breakfast if we’re really hungry.

The first time I tasted the crust I guess I expected it to taste exactly the same as white flour dough.  Wheat dough definitely has that wheaty flavor, but by my third pizza my tastes adjusted to the new flavor and I love it. We both love it and Friday night pizza is a big hit here.  I have served it to many non-vegans, with great results. 

This is one of my favorite recipes, and after I made a few times it get easier and faster to make it. I have this recipe handy and try to stock the ingredients,  so that a spur of the moment craving can be met without having to run to the store.  I hope you enjoy this as much as we do.

By veganforthemeateater

Leave a Reply

