Veggies on Rice

  Good Morning All.  I’ve gotten into the habit of keeping fresh vegetables on hand at all times. It can get costly during the winter months, so I stock up on items that go on sale and freeze them barely steamed and in small freezer bags for handy access.  One of my favorite dishes is veggies on rice.  I make a batch of brown rice and keep it in the fridge for use later in the week, so when I don’t know what to make I whip up an assortment of veggies and put it on the rice.    Place some of the veggies around the rice to make it look pretty. 

 I start by putting a small amount of olive oil, probably 2 teaspoons, in a fry pan, and fry a mixture of chopped onions, peppers, garlic, and sometimes celery.  I don’t always measure amounts, just cut up what looks like a good amount, so I will give you approximate quantities, and unless I say otherwise, you can adjust quantities as  your taste dictates.   Now, back to what I was saying, fry 1 medium to large onion, chopped, 1 green pepper, chopped, 2 cloves garlic, minced, 1 stalk celery, chopped, over medium high heat, until onions are translucent, 5 minutes or so.  Add 2-3 cups of veggie broth (or water), 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of maple syrup,  chopped mushrooms, 1  8 oz pkg, any kind, and other veggies you may like, like corn, beans, asparagus, green beans, etc., 1/2 – 1 cup each depending on how many different veggies you choose to use.   Cook for 5-7 minutes.  Serve over hot rice. 

I love this recipe because you can use whatever is season or whatever you have on hand. It’s very versatile.  If you don’t care for soy sauce, you can make the same basic dish and omit the soy sauce and maple syrup, and replace with cilantro, or basil and parsley.

Enjoy!

By veganforthemeateater

Leave a comment