Zucchini Medley and Weight Loss

This past weekend, at the Farmer’s Market, we got a lot of zucchini, among other veggies.  For the first time I bought yellow zucchini. I know it’s been around for a little while, but not having much sunlight in our yard, I don’t try to grow it.  Anyway, when we got home I made a medley of the green and yellow squash.  Here’s the recipe I used:

Zucchini Medley

3 green zucchini, sliced                                                 3 yellow zucchini, sliced

1 candy onion, or sweet, sliced                                  1 tsp olive oil

3-4 fresh basil leaves, cut in small pieces               2 sprigs curly parsley, minced

2-3 cloves garlic, minced                                               black pepper to taste

Heat oil in fry pan and sauté onions and garlic for a few minutes over medium heat. Add the squash and fry over medium heat, covered, for 2-3 minutes, stir and add 1/4 cup of water. Cover and cook for 3 minutes, stir, and add the fresh basil and parsley. Cover and cook for a few minutes more or until cooked but still slightly crunchy.  Sometimes I don’t stir this dish too frequently because I like the squash slices to be browned. 

Even though we don’t have much of a garden, I do have a few pots of herbs on the back porch. I love it because when I’m cooking I’ll think,” This could use some basil or parsley or rosemary,” and all I have to do is go out the back door and snip, snip.  I also have a small herb garden down by the patio with the same herbs plus one gigantic sage plant that’s at least 2 years old. 

For lunch I’ll have a bowl of squash. For dinner I’ll have a salad and another bowl of this squash.  The fresh herbs really lend a nice flavor to what might otherwise be bland.  It’s very satisfying.   Eating a lot of this dish has an unexpected benefit.   I did this for 4 days and lost 4 pounds!  I’ve also been walking and taking zumba and having my regular breakfast. I wouldn’t recommend eating this dish for any longer. I think my breakfast of peanut butter on whole wheat flatbread toasted, or oatmeal supplies me with enough protein for the day. 

I just love summertime and all the veggies and fruit available. I can eat a lot and not worry too much about weight gain.  Hmmm, speaking of food, I wonder what we’re eating tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

