Fried Potatoes…sort of

Not that I was ever a big fried foods fan, there were, and still are a few foods I really enjoy that are fried.  Now ‘fried’ takes on a totally different meaning. Well, maybe not ‘totally’.  These days, when I say fried, I mean a teaspoon or so of olive oil in a skillet and a lower heat.  Sometimes I add veggie broth to keep things from sticking or burning, but I find the end product is softer than I like.  I try to stick to just oil and as long as I don’t use much, I don’t feel guilty about it being a ‘fried’ dish.  Today I made fried potatoes and I used new potatoes from the Farmer’s Market in town.

Fried Potatoes

10-15 new potatoes, halved or quartered               1 sweet onion, med. sliced

1-2 frying peppers, chunked                                          6 mushrooms, quartered

2 cloves garlic, minced                                                     1/4 tsp black pepper

1 tsp ea. fresh parsley, basil, rosemary, chopped  (use less if dried)

1 tsp olive oil

Pour olive oil in a large skillet and heat on medium heat. Add potatoes, onions, garlic and peppers. Stir and cover, cooking for 15 minutes, and stirring occasionally. If potatoes start to burn, turn the heat down a little.  Add a little water if needed.  After another ten minutes or so, add mushrooms and fresh herbs and cook for 7 -8 minutes more, or until done. 

This makes the kitchen smell really yummy.  Sometimes if I want this to be a more complete meal without cooking anything else, I will add a boca burger crumbled into the pan during the last few minutes.  I like when the potatoes turn out a golden crunchy light brown.  Sometimes I make this for Sunday breakfast and if I don’t have new potatoes, I’ll use any potatoes.

By veganforthemeateater

Leave a Reply

